Appeal won to scrap 19-team Serie B

A joint-appeal by Ternana, Robur Siena, Novara and Pro Vercelli for Serie B to scrap its revised 19-team format has been accepted.

The 2018-19 Serie B campaign eventually started with 19 teams at the end of August as the FIGC decided against replacing Avellino, Bari and Cesena, all of whom went bankrupt.

That led Ternana to launch an appeal against the revised format, and the Tribunale Amministrativo Regionale in Lazio has sided with the Serie C club.

The Rossoverdi were one of four sides who were relegated from the second tier last season, so their appeal also applies for Novara and Pro Vercelli, as well as Siena – who lost in the Serie C playoffs last season.

See the latest Serie A predictions and betting tips with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *